A group of swimmers jump into the pool at DU's El Pomar Natatorium. Photo by Olivia Hyde | Clarion

Beginning on Feb. 18 and continuing over the weekend, DU’s swim and dive team were in Indianapolis, Indiana competing for the Summit League Championship title.

This weekend’s contest produced the third title in a row for DU’s team. Both the men and women earned first place; the men finished with 975.5 points and the women with 1066.

Individual honors were also awarded. Senior Dylan Bunch (Boulder City, Nevada) won Summit League MVP honors for the men, while junior Amanda Sanders (Superior, Colorado) won Summit League MVP for the women.

Freshman Kyle Ewoldt (Gilbert, Arizona) and freshman Bailey Andison (Smith Falls, Canada) also won the award for Newcomer of the Year. Head coach Brian Schrader was named Coach of the Year by the league.

DU earned first place in 34 swimming events. Bunch won the 1,650 m freestyle for the third time with a meet record time of 14:54.73. In the same event for the women, sophomore Maddie Myers (Arvada, Colorado) also set a Summit League Championship record with her first place finish of 16:20.04. For the 200 m backstroke, sophomore Anton Loncar (Hillsboro, Oregon) won for the men and sophomore Morgan McCormick (Golden, Colorado) won for the women. 

Two records were also set in the 100 m freestyle race. Sophomore Ray Bornman (Mackay, Australia) set a record with a 43.08 time and junior Johanna Roas (Munich, Germany) set one for the women with a time of 48.88. Sanders set a record in the women’s preliminary 200 m breaststroke at 2:08.24. DU also swept the 200 m butterfly event with wins from Ewoldt and sophomore Heidi Bradley (Victoria, Canada). Both the men and women’s teams won the 400 m medley relay, the 200 m medley relay, the 800 m freestyle relay, the 200 m freestyle relay and 400 m freestyle relay.

For the diving competition, junior Larissa Grammer (Olathe, Colorado) finished seventh for the 1 meter dive and the 3 meter dive.

The women’s NCAA Championship is scheduled for March 17-19 and the men’s tournament is scheduled for one week later on March 24-26.