Photo courtesy of Ficheiro

On Jan. 20, 2017 at around noon EST, Donald Trump was sworn in as the 45th President of the United States at the Capitol Building in Washington, D.C. Trump then gave his inaugural address, in which he promised to transfer power “from Washington D.C.” and give it back to the American people, as well as to stop “American carnage,” among other things, according to the Washington Post’s transcription of the address.

Crowd numbers for the inauguration have become a hot topic of debate, with estimates ranging from about 160,000 people by The New York Times to 1.5 million people by President Trump himself.  All living former presidents were in attendance other than George H.W. Bush, who could not attend for health reasons. Hillary Clinton, who ran against Trump for the Democratic party, was also in attendance.

Various protests occurred in D.C. during and after the inauguration, some of which turned violent. In total, six police officers were injured and 217 protesters were arrested, according to a CNN report.

The Inauguration was followed by a parade and three official inaugural balls.