Women’s tennis captures Summit League title


For the fourth year in a row, the DU women’s tennis team took home the Summit League Championship. Denver earned the championship with a 4-0 victory over University of South Dakota on April 29 in Indianapolis.

DU won the doubles competition cleanly, as all three teams refused to give up a point. The No. 15-ranked duo of junior Julia O’Loughlin (Highland Beach, Florida) and senior Maureen Slattery (Newport News, Virginia) won their set 6-0, as did sophomore Bianca Mok (Boise, Idaho) and senior Morgan Barnhill (Austin, Texas). Freshman Claire Koke (Calgary, Alberta) and senior Sonja Radosevic (Miami, Florida) were leading their match 5-0 when the competition was called off early.

The No. 1-3 singles competitors finished first, allowing the Pioneers to clinch the 4-0 win. O’Loughlin earned her victory in 6-3 and 6-0 sets. Slattery downed her opponent in two 6-1 sets, while Mok rounded out the day’s competition with a pair of dominating 6-0 set wins.

A few days earlier, Slattery was named the Summit League Player of the Year on April 27. She finished 6-0 in Summit League singles competitions, while also posting a 6-0 record in doubles with her partner O’Loughlin.

Head Coach Christian Thompson brought home Summit League Coach of the Year honors after guiding her team to a perfect inner-conference season. Denver dominated the league, outscoring opponents in the regular season 42-0. It was the second consecutive season she brought home the award.

The Pioneers also earned an automatic berth for the 2017 NCAA Tournament, which will take place May 12-14 and 18-29 in Athens, Georgia.

Braiden is a senior at the University of Denver and currently in his third year working in the sports section at The Clarion. Originally from Aurora, Colorado, he is studying Finance, Economics and Data Analytics in the Daniels College of Business. He is also involved on campus with the Zeta Beta Tau fraternity and was previously a Resident Assistant. He enjoys rooting for the Broncos, Avalanche, Nuggets, Marlins, Buffaloes and of course, the Pioneers. In his free time, as well as playing basketball and hockey.

Comments are closed.